What Kinds Of Compensation Are Available To Patients Filing A Medical Malpractice Lawsuit?

If you have suffered an injury due to medical malpractice, there are three kinds of damages available through a lawsuit:

1. General damages. This is compensation for the suffering caused by the malpractice, i.e physical pain, mental pain and suffering,  loss of enjoyment of life...

2. Special damages. This type of damage is the more quantifiable expense linked to the malpractice. Such damages include medical bills and reimbursement for lost income due to time missed at work.

3. Punitive damages. These damages are the rarer type of damages seen in medical malpractice cases. Punitive damages are meant to punish a physician or medical facility due to extreme conduct, for example, where a patient was intentionally harmed.

What Mistakes Can Amount To Medical Malpractice?

Medical malpractice occurs when a patient is harmed due to the failed performance of a doctor or other medical professionals. To prove medical malpractice, there must be proof that the medical professional was negligent. Medical professionals can neglect patients through:

1. Failing to diagnose, or misdiagnosing an illness or condition.

2. Not following proper medical procedures while treating a patient

3. Forgetting to warn a patient of the risks of a procedure or prescription drug. 

What Mistakes Can Amount To Wrongful Diagnosis?

1. Interpreting results from tests incorrectly

2. The ignorance of the patient's prior medical history

3. The failure to order tests

4. Delaying testing

5. The failure to confirm the diagnosis with other healthcare professionals